Appendix 3

All Party Parliamentary Group on Leasehold and Commonhold Reform House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

www.leaseholdknowledge.com

Co-Chairs: Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Justin Madders MP and Sir Edward Davey MP

Contact: Katherine O'Riordan - <u>katherine.oriordan@parliament.uk</u>

APPG Secretariat: Sebastian O'Kelly sok@leaseholdknowledge.com Martin Boyd martin.boyd@leaseholdknowledge.com

Rt Hon Robert Jenrick MP Secretary of State Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government 2, Marsham Street London SW1P 4JA

8th January 2021

URGENTcladding319/PB/JM/ED/MHCLG/2021

Dear Secretary of State,

APPG co-chairs Sir Peter Bottomley, Justin Madders with Sir Edward Davey attach signatures to this letter calling on Government to support leaseholders living in unsafe private residential leasehold properties who maybe facing substantial retrospective remedial safety-work costs.

No leaseholder, lease-renter should suffer anxiety, facing costs well beyond the ability to pay. Replacing unsafe cladding on buildings may total £15 billion, nearly ten times the funds now available.

You will be aware it is estimated that 1.5 million flats are currently un-mortgageable, trapping around 3.6 million people in potentially dangerous, unsellable housing.

Government has responsibility and resources to rescue the living victims of the cladding costs scandal.

Everyone seems to be at fault except those presently lumbered with impossible costs and with unsaleable flats in place of their dream homes.

APPG co-chairs call on Government to accurately assess liability for building safety remediation costs which should not fall on the end-user, the leaseholder because of defective legislation.

You will be aware two prime ministers, three former secretaries of state and successive housing ministers stated leaseholders should not pay to make their homes safe.

It is time to settle on simple effective ways at once to remove and replace dangerous products that still endanger residents in blocks of flats and to end the cladding remediation crisis. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Yours sincerely,

Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Justin Madders MP

Sir Edward Davey MP

Pelle Bottomley

0000

Erwan Manay.

APPG Co-Chair

APPG Co-Chair

APPG Co-Chair



All Party Parliamentary Group on Leasehold and Commonhold Reform House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

www.leaseholdknowledge.com

Co-Chairs: Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Justin Madders MP and Sir Edward Davey MP

Contact: Katherine O'Riordan – <u>katherine.oriordan@parliament.uk</u>

APPG Secretariat: Sebastian O'Kelly sok@leaseholdknowledge.com Martin Boyd martin.boyd@leaseholdknowledge.com

Members of Parliament:

Diane Abbott MP Sir David Amess MP Caroline Ansell MP John Baron MP Hillary Benn MP **Crispin Blunt MP** Kevin Brennan MP Ruth Cadbury MP Christopher Chope MP Elliot Colburn MP Damian Collins MP Daisy Cooper MP Janet Daby MP Allan Dorans MP Maria Eagle MP Florence Eshalomi MP Barry Gardiner MP Lilian Greenwood MP Hillary Benn MP Tom Hunt MP Kim Johnson MP Rt Hon Sir Edward Leigh MP Clive Lewis MP Rebecca Long-Bailey MP Caroline Lucas, MP Tony Lloyd MP Mark Logan MP Sir Robert Neill MP Rt Hon Caroline Nokes MP Stephen McPartland MP Ian Mearns MP Layla Moran MP Stephen Morgan MP Sarah Olney MP Andrew Rosindell MP Andrew Selous MP

Tommy Sheppard MP Andrew Slaughter MP Royston Smith MP Mark Tami MP Derek Twigg MP Dr Phillipa Whitford (SNP) MP

Peers:

Baroness Kay Andrews OBE The Lord Bird MBE The Rt Hon the Lord Blencathra Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Richard Best Lord Donald Curry of Kirkharle Baroness Ruth Deech DBE QC The Lord Michael German OBE Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE Baroness FInlay of Lladnaff Lord Kevin Joseph Shinkwin

Non-Parliamentarians:

Bishop Paul Bayes of Liverpool Dr Chiara Benvenuto of University of Salford Chair Bob Bessell of Retirement Security Limited Director Joanna Bould Jennings & Barrett Partner Charles Bramly BSc (Hons) MIRCS of Stiles Harold Partnership LLP Professor Susan Bright of Oxford University Partner Lucy Miranda Brown of Avonwick Group CEO Andrew Bulmer of The Institute of Residential Property Management Andy Burnham, Mayor of Greater Manchester Adrian Calver Red Rock Estate & Property Management Ltd Lizzie O' Connell of HML Holdings Limited Oliver Conway of Oliver Fisher Solicitors



All Party Parliamentary Group on Leasehold and Commonhold Reform House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

www.leaseholdknowledge.com

Co-Chairs: Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Justin Madders MP and Sir Edward Davey MP

Contact: Katherine O'Riordan – <u>katherine.oriordan@parliament.uk</u>

APPG Secretariat: Sebastian O'Kelly sok@leaseholdknowledge.com Martin Boyd martin.boyd@leaseholdknowledge.com

Rawdon Crozier Barrister of KBG Chambers Director Tim Darwall-Smith MRICS, Property **Management Services** Sarah Dedekis Bath Leasehold Management James McDermott BSc (Hons) MSc MRICS AIRPM of Zenith Management Limited Chair Andrew Dismore AM of the London Assembly Fire, Resilience and Emergency **Planning Committee** Andrew Eagerton MIRPM AssocRICS of Hunters RBM CEO and Chair Jonathan Evans of Ash & Lacy Holdings Limited Managing Partner James Farrar MIRPM AssocRICS JFM Block & Estate Management **Director Sarah Fisher of MIH Property** Management Ltd Head of MLM Property Management Craig Forrest MIRPM AssocRICS Sara Grixti AIRPM Cluttons LLP, Portman House Chief Executive Nigel Glen of ARMA Chief Executive Nigel Howell of FirstPort CEO Pauline Jones AssocRICS, MIRPM Jones Associates Director Cherry Jones of Home from Home **Property Management** Founder Katie Kendrick of National Leasehold Campaign CEO Sebastian O'Kelly of Leasehold Knowledge Partnership Michael Mansfield QC Gary Martin of Letters Group Partner Joe Mallon JFM Block & Estate Management Jonathan Miller of Grace Miller & Co. Limited Director Steve Nightingale of Bloq Management Services Limited Terri-Jade Peters MLM Management Chair Murad Qureshi AM of the London Assembly Housing Committee

Shula Rich Head of Brighton Hove and District Leaseholders Association Director Virtus Robin Mitchell Property Management Limited Metro Mayor of Liverpool City Region Steve Rotheram Area Property Manager Gillian Stanley MIRPM Mainstay Group Area Director James Tarr FIRPM, AssocRICS Kim Taylor of KT Management Company (UK) Ltd Nisha Thomas Horizon Management Bishop of Manchester David Walker Katie Waters BSc (Hons) MA MIRPM AssocRICS of Smith Waters LLP Alan Williamson BA(Hons) MSc MCIPD FIRPM AssocRICS Regalty Estates Limited Karen Wilson MARLA Property Management Director

Managing Director Daniel Pollard MIRPM AssocRICS Realty Management Limited

Cladding Groups:

Ritu Saha and Will Martin - UK Cladding Action Group Giles Grover and Rebecca Fairclough -Manchester Cladiators Abi Tubis - Leeds Cladding Scandal Jennifer Reid and Brian Simpson - Birmingham Leaseholder Action Group Natasha Letchford and Jake Ellis - Southampton **Cladding Action Group** Julie Fraser - Liverpool Cladiators Dave Richards - London Cladding Action Group Lucie Gutfreund - Homeowners of L & Q Vickie Musguin-Rowe and Emma Byrne - One Housing Residents' Action Group Alex Dickin - Ipswich Cladiators